Categories
Gaming RoR

The Nerfed Buttons Situation

THE DEVIL according to many people. CHEATING! According to some. NOOB ONLY ADDON! RUINS THE FUN!…
You’ll hear a lot of bad stuff on NB, and I really mean A LOT, I personnaly have it setup so it brews me coffee and massage my feet while playing.


The strategic planning element of the game :

I like Collectible Cards Games (CCG).
Started with Magic in 1994 (!), was pretty serious about it, went to tournaments every 2 weeks, and played alot to say the least.
Also played many other CCG, and right now I still play one : Horus Heresy Legions.

The aspect of every CCG I play(ed) that I like the most is always the same :
The Deck building phase.
The strategic planning, as opposed to the tactical phase (actually playing the game with the deck you prepared).

To me, Nerfed Buttons (NB) is the same.
Plan for each and every possible fight.
Find the (closest to) perfect balance beetween covering every situation and the actual results you can get from a rotation.

Professor Cake :
There is a point of diminishing return when using NB, a real one this time (I really have to write an article about this, what you see on the forums about diminishing returns is almost 100% false).
When you put up a sequence, up to a certain point there can be alot to gain with NB.
But when you try to put too many conditionnals, you then lose relative power, quite fast actually, and most of the time end up less efficient than without NB.
Exemple : Some people complain that NB users interrupt their retribution channel. Well, THAT’S GOOD for you! It means they won’t interrupt the rez, wind block, or whichever skill that is 15 times more important than your damage channel.

So losing this strategic aspect of the game is a big deal to me.
I really loved NB for that.
Could NB give an advantage over others ? YES!
But only if you were smarter in your strategic planning than the enemy.
And well, if my opponent is smarter than me, then he has an advantage, I do not see the problem here. It’s ok not to be the smartest, maybe I’m stronger than him, or faster, or more handsome, or whatever else…


Cake’s Thoughts :

NB moves the game from 100% tactic 0% strategy to let’s say 50% tactic 50% strategy (random numbers pulled out of my ar..).
So obviously, people that are better at tactical thinking will advocate against NB.
And people better at strategic thinking will advocate in favor of NB.

I like the strategic part, so I’m in favor of NB.

All the other arguments I’ve read or heard this weekend are random BS used to push ones agenda.
It is not cheating, it doesn’t bypass GCD, or “think” for you or whatever else, even if my NB makes my coffee and massages me.
There is NO one button rotation that will make you good, it just makes the boring part automated.
If you were a good player you already had multiple rotations and used the correct one depending on the situation, it just made playing with 24 binds instead of aa crapton (depending on the class).
“Skill” is another BS argument.
Are League of Legend pro players skilled ?
I’d say they are yes!
Yet, how many buttons do they use ?

SM exemple :
I desisntalled NB since I’m not sure what the official stance on it is.
So now, I’m “gitting gud” since my basic rotation in a blob went from :
– pushing 3 infinitly with adjustments made depending on the situation
to :
– pushing 222333222111222333222111 infinitly with adjustment made depending on the situation

As you can see I’m now MUCH MUCH more skilled than previously!
And a proud “non NB user” #progamer.
Gonna miss coffee and massages tho, not gonna lie.

Leave a comment