Categories
Gaming RoR SM Tank

Project : Swordmaster

After having my CH, IB and BO at a point I’m satisfied to be, I decided to focus on a SM : Tzarinacake.


Starting point :


She’s already CR40 and was brought there using the leveling method described here : RoR Leveling


I’m RR57 when starting this “SM journal”, and pretty much naked : 3 vanq, duelist.I bought a Rough Gunbad Diamond and a +block Ravack’s cloak at the AH. Ravack’s cloaks come with different avoidance stats, can be equipped at CR36, and some are BiS up till sovereign (+parry for 2h and +block for SnB)! They are quite cheap as well.
I also got a Genesis Everlasting Fragment and the Subjugator Shield.
Aaannnnnnd that’s it! Rest is green stuff.
I’ll be focusing on SnB.

Tzarinacake in the dark on how to write her SM journal

Low RR impressions :

Tzarinacake feels pretty weak compared to my other tanks to be honest. SM are powerhouses but :
– Utility wise, the best things they provide are  CDR (Whispering Winds) and -20% to enemies (Raking Talons Tactic). Sadly, she cannot have both at low RR so already half her strengths are out.
– Tanking wise, most tanks have great basic tanking tactics, she doesn’t so she is squishier than her counterparts. Very good masteries tanking tactics, but not enough points to take them at the moment.

On the plus side, it’s fairly easy to have a good protection score even without Raking Talons since she has a pretty good party wide absorb “bubble”, if it’s wb vs wb play, in oRvR she just dies too fast.. So she can trick people into thinking she is doing pretty well.

Is she tho ? Well, that’s a different story, most of the things a tank brings to a party won’t be reflected on any scoreboard. Her KD and aoe punts are the hardest to use (tied with BO) and she doesn’t have any st punt yet. She also doesn’t have any meaningful stat buffs if not using nature’s blade.

One day I’ll be stronk!
But right now I’m more like this 😥

Tzarinacake does NOT intend to be weak forever! I mean come on, with such a name it’s obvious she’s destined for a great future. Looks like a long way but, luckily for me, playing on that server I can say that she’ll be ready in two weeks!

I’ll try to document her journey weekly, following her progress.

RR50 Masteries :

Vaul’s Buffer (VB) or Perfect Defenses (PD). Tzarinacake’s chance to be crit is too high for my liking, and you cannot be crit when you have an absorb shield on (if it is removed by an attack that has a higher value than your absorb, the remaining part can crit), so I chose VB. 

Later in her career, she’ll change to PD. We’ll see why when that happens.

RR50 Renown :

What should she do next ?

– Do some PvE to get easy entry gear, 3 pieces Redeye is quite strong for low RR tanks.
– Complete the Empire T4 epic quest to get The Shadowblade or get the T4 Elf RvR influence maxed to get Blade of Light..
– Get to RR60 to have WW and RT.
– Farm 680 Oppressor Emblems and get to RR61 to buy Shieldbearer’s Pavise of Reverence.
– Farm 293 Vanq Medallions or get lucky with gold bags to finish the Vanquisher set.
– Participate in Fortress fights to get a headstart on Invader Medallions (she has 41).

Leave a comment